January Card Kit – Sara’s take- Jan. 6th

Hi everyone! It’s Sara today to share the projects I made with the January Card Kit. There are some great pieces in this kit like an awesome stamp set (I used all but one stamp and actually used the flower multiple times!), a fabulous phrase sticker sheet from Teresa Collins and fun pink alphas from Simple Stories.

love you everyday

Layout 1

As soon as I saw the papers and stamps in the kit I knew I needed to do a Love You Everyday page and I had the perfect pictures for it. Since I’m a diehard one photo per page scrapper I made a small flip book to showcase all the pictures I wanted to include.

love you everyday flip 3

I cut up one of the white cardstock sheets to make polaroid shaped photo mats for the pictures and then I stamped on the bottom of each one. To see the rest, check out my flickr stream!

Layout 2

pink bubblegum

The big thing around here for the past month or so has been Molly’s new glasses – they’re very pink! Of course, when I saw the pink ribbon, papers, and alphas I knew I had to scrap the story! Everytime Gabe sees someone the first thing he tells them is, “Molly’s glasses are pinker than pink bubblegum!” Definitely a memory I needed to record!

pink bubblegum - gold flower

I actually used the flower stamp on this LO with the gorgeous gold Delicata Ink (Wendy was the enabler behind this purchase!) and I love how it looks on the dark cardstock. It has me tempted to buy the silver as well!

Layout 3

bunny love

I had some mixed media fun with this one. I stamped the flower with VersaMark and heat embossed with clear powder. I then misted over them with several colours of Prima Color Bloom spray. Because I used the regular cardsdtock in the kit, my paper warped a little but it was ok.

bunny love stamping

I also stamped the chevron in blue next to the picture and then restamped twice without reinking to get the variation in colour. I finished it off by adding a couple of the phrase stickers, which I loved. You can see that in the next LO!

Layout 4

you are awesome

I pulled out some wood Freckled Fawn wood veneer for this LO, which I heat embossed with gold. The majority of the page though is made up of those little Teresa Collins stickers – they’re fabulous!

you are awesome words

I love the look of them all stacked together. And see how great the wood looks when gold embossed? It one of my favourite things!

Lunch Note

molly pocket card

Once I’m finished with all the large pieces of paper in a card kit, I love to make little cards and lunchbox notes. This kit was great for those! For this small note I added the alphas to the front and then stamped the speech balloon on the inside, which I filled with more of those phrase stickers.

Tag

a happy thought

The fun thing about the papers in this kit is that they have a hole in the top which you are supposed to cut off. However, if you trim a little off each side you end up with a perfect tag and a premade hole for the ribbon! I used the blue stripe paper and filled in the lines with stamps. All these phrases are actually one stamp that I cut into pieces so they would be easier to work with. The back of the paper has the cameras so I stamped the banner and will write something when I put it in Molly’s lunchbox.

Card

love you 24-7-365

There is a paper in the kit that has the days of the week on it and another that has all the months listed. The phrase stickers have 24/7 and 365. And the stamp set has a small heart. Totally had to use those together, right? Love the colours and how fun this one is!

I have plans for some more tags using my Prima Doll stamps and paper piecing, of course, but I ran out of time to get them in here. Keep an eye out – they will probably show up on my blog and in The Paperie soon!

Sara

Thanks so much Sara – beautiful projects!

I love that Sara uses a card kit for so much more than cards! If you don’t get our card kit already call the store so we can set one aside for you. Great way to get a stack of cards done and as Sara shows a great option to take to a crop and create several projects.

Wendy Signature

One thought on “January Card Kit – Sara’s take- Jan. 6th

Leave a Comment

