January Card Kit – Wendy’s take – January 10th 2015

Hi Everyone!

I had tons of fun with this months card kit and made 8 cards and a few embellishments as well.

“today” card

image

For this card I used the navy card stock as the card base and the packaging from the stamp set as a layer. I added the navy striped paper and then white embossed the flower onto one of the neutral papers included in the 6×6 selection.  I used some of the phrase stickers from teresa collins and outlined them with a Copic Multiliner.  I added some of the Studio G gems to the centre of the flower.

“remember u r adored & loved” card

image

I used the pale green shimmer card stock of the base of this card and then added 2 flags cut from scraps of the patterned paper.  I used scor-tape to adhere a piece of the ribbon to the top of the card and then added the wooden bow with Tombow glue and coloured it with the light pink Wink of Stella brush pen.  I used the simple stories stickers to create my sentiment (outlined with the Copic Multiliner again) and then added a few gems to finish off the card.  The entire card front is outlined with the multiliner – I like the finished look it gives.

“hi handsome” card

image

I struggle with cards to give my son and I love the idea of leaving our kids little notes to remind them of how much they are loved.  Not sure I’d get away with sending this to school but maybe left on his pillow would work.  I used the rust coloured card stock for the card base and heat embossed the arrow stamp with pine cone versacolor to create a series of ‘flags’.  I then tapped some navy Color Shine over the front.  I stamped the speech balloon with indigo VersaColor ink and fussy cut it out.  I adhered the speech balloon with foam adhesive and then added some words from the Teresa Collins sticker sheet.

Floral Card

image

I used the other half of the rust coloured card stock for this card base and layered the mini floral patterned paper on top as a panel.  Next I heat embossed two flowers onto patterned paper with Versacolor (sea foam & lilac) and clear embossing powder.  I adhered a strip of ribbon using Scortape and added the wooden bow with Tombow adhesive.  The flowers were added with glue dots in the centres so that the edges would lift a little to give a bit of dimension.

“love you” card

image

Jeannette was playing at my house over the holidays and I asked her to do something with the kit so she made the flowers on this card.  It is fascinating to watch her work with what I would call traditional paper crafting supplies; she uses them in such an artsy way. For the flowers Jeannette stamped one with Versacolor sea foam and then traced the white lines of the stamped image with the Copic 0.03 multiliner.  Next she used the Wink of Luna blue and lined/highlighted some of the sides of a few petals.  While this was drying she took a wet brush and blended the ink & brush pen. For the centre of the teal flower Jeannette used the Versamark Pen and Neon Pink embossing powder and heat embossed.

For the pink flower Jeannette used the same process as above but with Versacolor Pink for stamping and Wink of Stella Dark Pink Brush Pen for highlights.  The centre of the flower is done with Liquid Appliqué that was heat set and then coloured with the blue Wink of Luna.

I didn’t want to take away from these gorgeous flowers at all so I simply mounted them onto the mint shimmer card stock with foam adhesive and added a stamp, layered with a sentiment and a gem.

‘miss you’ card

image

I had a lot of fun with Versacolor and heat embossing with this kit – the flower image is awesome for this technique.  For this card I tapped some Heidi Swapp Color Shine (primrose & mint green) over the front of a white card base. Next I heat embossed the flowers onto patterned paper using Versacolor tropical green & peony along with clear embossing powder.  I fussy cut out the flowers and hand cut some leaves. I adhered the leaves with Tombow Mono Liquid glue and the flowers with foam adhesive.  I heat embossed the greeting (Paper Smooches “scripty sayings”) with Versacolor Charcoal and clear embossing powder.

“hello there” card

image

A very simple card here.  I stamped the arrows using Hero Arts Shadow Ink (mint julep, navy & bubble gum) and the heart in bubble gum as well.  I used my crop a file to make holes to thread some twine through (from my stash).  I stamped the speech balloon in the navy ink and fussy cut it out, popped it off with foam adhesive and then added the Teresa Collins phrases.

‘a happy thought’ card

image

This card was probably the most fun to make and very easy too.  I white heat embossed the heart stamp onto a piece of white card stock and then used my Koi watercolors to brush over the embossed area – love that look.  I then heat embossed the flag sentiment from the stamp set using Versacolor imperial blue and clear embossing powder.  I adhered the card panel to a navy card base and called it done.

Project Life 3×4 cards & embellishments

image

 

image

I love using the bits from kits to make cards and embellishments for my project life album.  I tend to keep my PL album quite simple so having a few ready made, coordinating embellishments all set lets me add a bit of dimension and something unique to those everyday layouts. Also a great way to use up your leftovers.

If you don’t subscribe to our card kit but would like to give us a call (726-5323) and we will take care of you.

Thanks

Wendy Signature

Leave a Comment

