April Card Kit – Stephanie’s take- April 3rd, 2015

Hi Everyone!

Grab a coffee/tea because this is a long, lovely post.

For this month’s card kit we asked our newest Paperie team member – Stephanie Roberts to design for us and here are her comments along with what she came up with:

photo 5

When I first opened this kit, I was so excited to see the POW paper!
And this stamp just seemed perfect for a party card! I used the grey cardstock for my base, and the pink 4×6 card for my main panel. On top of that, I punched 1.5″ and 1″ circles from the yellow lace 4×6 and the pow paper. I used white ink and white embossing powder for the sentiment and raised it up with some pop dots.

photo 3

To the other half of the grey cardstock, I added the striped 4×6 card, cut to 4×4 so as to leave some space for the sentiment. I punched out several 1″ circles from some white cardstock in my scraps bin (always looking for an excuse to use up scraps!) and stuck the circle stickers on top. In my eagerness to not waste an ounce of the pow paper, I ended up with some half circles, which I arranged around the edges of the striped paper. For the sentiment, I used a “today” sticker and stamped “celebrate” on an angle and embossed with white embossing powder.

photo 2
I trimmed the blue dot cardstock to make a square card. To make the pow border, I trimmed a square to 4×4, and then used my exacto knife and a ruler to cut all around the inside (leaving me with a 3.75×3.75 square, which I used for punching circles for other cards). The sentiment was made with white embossing powder, and I added some stickers to finish it off.

photo 1
Using the other half of the blue polka dot cardstock (this time with the white side facing out), I cut a strip off of a 4×6 card for my sentiment. I covered a panel of the star paper with some Luminarte ShimmerMist (in Seafoam) and stuck on the stickers. Easy peasy!

photo 4
With a leftover scrap of the star paper, I made a mini New Year card by cutting up the Happy Birthday stamp and embossing the “Happy” with pearl silver embossing powder. I cut up a New Year sticker, added a few drops of Prima Colour Bloom spray (in Oyster), and drew an outline around my star sticker with a white pen.

photo 3
I loved the flower paper, and wanted a card to show it off a bit, so I kept this one simple. Just a strip of paper, a white embossed sentiment, and a simple row of ribbon. The 1/4″ scor tape is perfect for adhering the ribbon in this kit!

photo 2
This lovely little house and hearts 4×6 card made me think of a baby card, so I stamped “celebrate the little things” on front, and “happy *birth*day” on the inside (get it?).

The words on the stamp didn’t quite line up the way I wanted them to, so I cut the stamp and rearranged the words on my acrylic block until they were just where I wanted them and then stamped with VersaMagic Lightning Black. Since the 4×6 had a border that wouldn’t all fit on the card, and would look a bit odd if I just cut it off, I decided to do a wraparound with it.

photo 1
The triangle paper and the navy cardstock were a perfect match! I fussy cut some hearts from a 4×6 card, and popped them up with foam dots. I used the alpha stickers for the sentiment. The alpha stickers in this kit are really neat – you can try and match up the fonts for your sentiment, or choose a bunch of different fonts for contrast.

photo 2
With the other half of the navy cardstock, I made two cards: a square card, and a little lunchbox love note.
On the square card, I cut a square hole out of the stripe paper and stuck a heart sticker in the middle (and went over it with Wink of Stella for some shimmer!). Then I punched some circles from white scraps in my stash, stuck on the season stickers, and then attached them to the card with my glue runner. On the inside, I used the alpha stickers and another circle sticker for the “i luv u every day”
sentiment.

photo 4
For the lunchbox note, I punched little hearts from the Pow paper, big hearts from the flap of the teal envelope, and used a scrap of stripe paper. Simple but sweet!

photo 1
The pinwheel stamp in this kit just *begged* to be played with! To make my pinwheels, I stamped the image on one side of the paper, cut out the image, and then stamped it again on the back side. I made small cuts, folded down the flaps, and poked a brad into the center to keep the flaps in place. As much as I loved the 4×6 flower card I used for the back panel, I had to tone it down a bit with some gesso. I used the adorable thin washi for my border and the pinwheel sticks, and popped up the pinwheels with foam dots. I wanted the sentiment to be long rather than stacked, so it came in handy that my stamp was already cut from another card I made.

photo 3
I loved the look of the orange and brown papers together, and made a skinny card by simply folding the brown 6×6 piece of paper in half.
The “autumn” was cut from a 4×6 card, and the “hello” sticker was raised up with a few glue dots. I used the leaf stickers for visual balance, and a scrap of orange ribbon and the pumpkin sticker give a little surprise on the inside 🙂

photo 4

photo 1
I love the stickers included in this kit, and wanted to use the tree sticker for a mature-looking anniversary card. I folded the owl 4×6 card in half, and stuck the tree sticker on the front. The heart stickers were 2 different colours of pink, so I just distressed them a bit with Barn Door distress ink to make them match. I embossed my sentiment (with brown embossing powder) on the matching red paper, and cut it into banners (and stuck them on with foam dots).

photo 2
Using the two halloween-y 4×6 cards, I made a hinged/interactive card.
The back of the orange and black polka dot paper was green and not at all what I wanted, so I just used some gesso to cover it all up! I stamped and embossed the sentiment, used a sticker for the date, and then used my exacto knife to create the flaps.

photo 5

 

I wanted a card that would show off the cute washi tape in this kit, so I used it to create a polaroid-ish border on a white card base from my stash. After putting on all the stickers, I used some sticky notes to create a mask so that only the space between the cloud and the umbrella was visible. My original plan was to add a few drops of gold Prima Colour Bloom, but I guess my trigger finger was a bit itchy, and I ended up with a giant splotch of gold! I waited until it dried, and then covered it up a bit with some modelling paste and my mini circles stencil. I’m pretty pleased with the result!

photo 3
At this point, I had run out of cardstock big enough to make cards from… so I put the envelopes to work! This card is made from the white envelope, with a piece of 6×6 paper cut to 4.25″x5.5″ and stuck together with scor tape. The cloud paper and sun sticker were begging to be paired together, and I love the pop of yellow with the ribbon.

photo 4
Inside, the stickers in the kit work together nicely to unify the sentiment (luv u today / luv u everyday). Inside the envelop pocket, you could stick a favourite picture, or a gift card. “Just because”cards are my fav to send!

 

 

photo 1

photo 2

this envelope card uses the envelope in a different way – I used the flap of the envelope as an accent colour on the front of the card. I trimmed the flap (you already saw the hearts I punched from the scrap!) and adhered the yellow ribbon down the middle (to try and distract from the way the flap angles in – did you notice?). On the inside of the card, I white embossed the sentiment, and put a strip of washi and a strip of envelope flap for some balance and visual interest.

The next 3 cards all use card bases from my stash – I just couldn’t put this kit down!

photo 5
The inspiration for this card was the little shamrock sticker that I put on the inside. The navy stripe paper looks great with the orange alpha stickers. Add scraps of red, orange, and pow paper scraps, trim them to banners of different lengths and widths, and: done!

photo 4
This ombre paper inspired me to have a repetitive sentiment going down through the colours. I embossed in black, to tie in with the black card base (from my stash). And I added the yellow ribbon to help balance the elements, and unify the colour scheme. (I’m not afraid to make cards with dark cardstock because I know my white uniball pen is up to the challenge, when I’m ready to write a personal message
inside!)

photo 3
Circle punches, stickers, Pow paper, red paper, scissors, and foam dots! I’ll be honest: I played around with the placement and size of the circles for quite a while before I committed to adhering them! For my banner, I cut the ends of a strip of Pow paper, adhered the sentiment sticker in the middle, and the used my scoring board to score for the folds.

photo 1

photo 2
I made this card by cutting a strip of white scrap cardstock to 1″x4″, and scored it at 1/2″. I used this strip to hinge two 4×6 cards together. The plain hinge looked a bit blah, so I pepped it up with two bits of ribbon. A simple white embossed sentiment on the inside, with plenty of space for a heartfelt message. On the front, I used orange alphas to make my message, but they weren’t sticking very well, so I used a tiny bit of Tombo Mono glue to help keep them down.

photo 4

photo 3
Before I started making any cards, I set aside 12 4×6 cards for my calendar. I chose them based on the seasons. For the month titles, I used mostly the orange alpha stickers, some blue alpha stickers, and sometimes I cut up the stickers from the seasons sticker sheet. I made the holes using my crop-a-dile, and bound them all together with binder rings.

photo 2
The final project I got from this kit was a card organization system!
The season/event stickers in this kit are perfect for it! I love my tab punch – don’t know how I lived without it!

 

Thanks so much Stephanie!  this may be the most projects out of a kit  yet!

 

Wendy Signature

3 thoughts on “April Card Kit – Stephanie’s take- April 3rd, 2015

Leave a Comment

