Embellishments!

Hi Everyone!

We have recently stocked Freckled Fawn embellishment kits in the store and we LOVE THEM!  High quality product and great variety.  We asked Paperie instructor Sara Case Strickland to plan along with us on the blog.  Here’s Sara:

 

I love embellishments. Really, really love them, so when I heard the Paperie was getting the Freckled Fawn embellishments kits I may have done a little happy dance! But, there’s a problem – I hoard embellishments and then pick out just one or two for a LO and keep stockpiling. Since many of you are scrapbookers, I’m willing to bet you’re the same way! Come on, admit it, you’re among friends here! J

I’ve known for a while that I really need to start using, not hoarding, and since the Freckled Fawn kits came out I’ve forced myself to do just that. To help you along, and to show you how to get the most out of these awesome kits – seriously, they’re amazing – I have a couple of LO’s done. Also, if you check out the Paperie’s Instagram account, you’ll see Wendy using the contents to make fabulous things for her Project Life album.

Just so you know up front, the only items I used that weren’t part of the Freckled Fawn kit (the March one for these LO’s), were watercolour paper, ink, a black pen, and some mist.

1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Look how well all the items work together! I used a bit of every single embellishment that was in the kit for this one and I love how it all came together. Those little wooden buttons? Fave!

2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And there’s a whole sheet of flexible epoxy triangles in different colours that are great for banners on cards or for that little pop I like to have the corners of a page:

3

 

 

 

 

 

I also used some of the cork labels for dimension around the photo and as a pull tab for my hidden journaling:

4

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The second LO made use of the diecut coloured cards. There are twenty of them, with the numbers 1-10 on them so you get two of each, positive and negative. I have plans to use some as stencils! For this though, they worked great as a photo mat:

5

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The wood chips in this kit are fabulous little arrows and, to make them even better, they fit together and layer over the vellum arrows!

6

 

 

 

 

 

 

I know I mentioned I love the little wood buttons, but I was also kind of fond of the glitter words – aren’t they the best?!? Just look how well they play with the cork, wood chips, vellum, and epoxy stickers!

7

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After using all that, I still have tons left over for more LO’s and cards, or, like Wendy, Project Life or KTOL additions. Plus, I’ve already used so much that I can now buy the next kit guilt-free – that’s a win-win, my friends!

The Paperie just got in a slew of kits, from several different months so if you hurry, you can probably grab your favourite, or three, lol!

Sara

Thanks so much Sara for playing along.  I do use my Freckled Fawn kits and the awesome zippered pouches they come in to store supplies.  I can grab a few and my Project Life album and I’m good to embellish away while I’m watching tv.

Wendy Signature

Leave a Comment

