September 2015 Page Kit – Guest Designer – Sara Case Strickland

Hi Everyone!

For this month’s kit we asked one of our very talented class instructors and designers, Sara Case Strickland, if she would play along and you are going to want to check this out! She truly shows us how much you can get from one kit! Wow! Thanks so much Sara!!

Here’s Sara:

It’s been awhile since I’ve had the chance to play with a Paperie Page Kit so when I got this one I was determined to use it all up. I think I succeeded! Forewarning – there are a lot of pictures here so grab a snack and settle in! 🙂

1 - scraps

 

The first thing I do when I get a kit is decide what I want to hoard. As you can imagine, it never turns out well because I never use my favourite things! I decided a while ago to stop that and use my favourite things first – in this case, the awesome Star paper:

2 - shine for you

I simply smeared some heavy gesso over the paper to make a messy photo mat and then added the title with the Amy Tangerine Thickers that are included and some Basic Grey alpha stickers from my stash. I altered the Thickers with Stampendous Aged Silver Embossing Enamel.

Since I had my gesso out, I spread a very thin layer over the alphabet paper to tone down the colour a little. I knew I wanted to scrapbook the first time my son wrote out his whole name without help and this paper was perfect!
3 - he did it

I used the bar code strips from some of the patterned paper and stickers from both the embellishment sheets, along with the Thickers again for the title. I also outlined the three letters of Gabe’s initials to make them pop.

My next Lo was pretty simple. I matted a photo, used the Thickers as is (no altering this time!), and used stickers as embellishments. I also spattered a little clay and gold mist across the title area.

4 - beachcomber

If you look on the back of many of my LO’s you’ll see pieces cut out behind the photos – this gives me extra patterned paper to use when I like both sides of a sheet! I will either use those pieces as photos mats or cuts them up to use as embellishments.

For this next one, I really wanted to highlight the contrast of my daughter’s fancy tutu with her sneakers. I altered the alphas in two different ways – for hiphop I sprinkled Aged silver Embossing Enamel for a grungy look and for ballerina I coloured the letters with my Sakura Stardust pen for some shimmer.

5 - hiphop ballerina

I finished it all off with more barcode strips, some stickers, and a bit of silver mist spatter.

While I was working on this kit I was also thinking of ideas for my Favourite Things class. This Distress Ink/Perfect Pearls technique was one I wanted to try so I gave it a go. I love how the stripes turned out! They’re super shimmery in real life.

6 - molly is 8

I trimmed down the background and matted it on the black cardstock for a border, then added doilies and cork hearts from my stash.

By the time I got to my last two LO’s I was running out of letters! No problem, with chipboard Thickers you can cut and stick to make your own. At least five or six of the alphas in this title are not the original letters!

7 - beachy girl

I added a photo mat that I acquired from a cut piece of patterned paper background, added circular stickers from the sticker sheet, and cut a camera from another piece of paper. The tiny hearts are from my Freckled Fawn embellishment kit.

My last LO was a very last minute addition. I simply couldn’t get rid of all those pretty scraps! If you know me at all, you know I’m not a scrap lover and usually toss them. I just couldn’t this time and I love how they all came together.

8 - crazy face

I added three colours of embossing powder to the letters and thick stacks of the included circle labels behind the photo. A bit of doodling around the paper scraps and a few stickers phrases finished it off.

In between all those 12×12 LO’s, I also made a 6×8 LO for the small album of my kids and their friends. I used a divided page protector and make the pieces smaller than the pockets so it’s got a peek-a-boo look to the next pages in the book.

9 - wait...

Super easy with scraps of paper and circle label stickers. Some black embossing powder to make the alphas stand out and that’s it.

Since I used all the patterned paper for my LO’s, I had a couple of full sheets of cardstock left over – perfect for birthday cards….

10 - girl space monsters card111 - boy space monsters card

….and lunchbox notes!

12 - xo card1 13 - wow card1 14 - love&hugs card 15 - i {heart} u card

Finally, I made a teeny tiny mini album. The Instax albums came out while I had this kit and I couldn’t wait to play with one! The size is almost impossible to picture because it’s so little, but the pages are 2.125”x 3.375”. So cute!

16 - salmon cove mini

I used the Thickers and a wood chip sun from the same Freckled Fawn Embellishment kit as the tiny hearts to make the title. The cover page is a scrap of paper, with a circle punched form another scrap and a few stickers phrases.

17 -salmon cove mini go see do

I wanted to show that you don’t need an Instax camera to use the album so I resized all my photos in an editing program (I use Photoshop Elements 11), and added a border to mimic the look of an instax picture.

18 -salmon cove mini pals

A few stickers and fussy cut images on pop dots are all you need to decorate!

And that’s it! You can find more album photos and closeups of the LO’s on my Flickr Account if you want more detail. I hope you get the kit and have some fun – I know I couldn’t have possibly used anymore of it than I did!

Thanks so much for playing along this month Sara and sharing your gorgeous layouts with us!

If you don’t already subscribe to the monthly page kit give us a call and we will get you signed up.

 

2 thoughts on “September 2015 Page Kit – Guest Designer – Sara Case Strickland

Leave a Comment

