October Card Kit – Guest Designer – Melanie Smith

Hello October!

We are super excited to share this card kit and all the amazing projects that Guest Designer and Paperie customer did this month – they are gorgeous and we love to share ‘new to you’ talent.  Melanie won our Mojo Monday summer contest and got a free card kit and what she did with it … well wow!  Here’s Melanie:

I’ve never considered myself much of a card maker, but I am pretty happy with what I came up with using the October card kit. 11 cards and one layout, and I still have lots of leftovers!

image001

 

The first card was inspired by the navy blue thread in my sewing machine right after hemming up a pair of pants for my son. I kid you not- sometimes inspiration comes from the strangest places 🙂

 

image002

 

This card was stamped using gold delicata ink.

 

image003

 

I knew as soon as I saw the navy blue paper that I would be stamping on it using gold ink

image004

 

I stamped some flowers in gold and cut them out to use as embellishments on this next card.

image005

 

I loved the floral prints in this paper collection, and cut out some of the individual flowers to use as embellishments. For this card, I used bronze embossing powder on the stamped sentiment

cards-10

 

For this one I just hand cut the flags and circles, and used a border punch on the pink paper.

 

image006

 

This is where I became obsessed with embossing powder. I cut out the doily shape using my silhouette, and used the negative as a stencil with versa mark. Then I covered the ink with a mix of gold and bronze embossing powder and heat embossed it. I also dissected the flower that came with the kit so I could create 2 separate smaller flowers.

image007

 

This is another product of my heat embossing spree. First I cut the word hello using my silhouette. I used the negative as a stencil again to make the word happy in bronze right on the card. It was a little too messy to leave at that, so then I heat embossed the cut out “happy” with gold embossing powder on versa mark.

 

image008

 

This is another silhouette shape that I heat embossed in gold.

 

cards-7

 

This is the cut out doily shape heat embossed with a mixture of bronze and gold. The “Hello is covered in a deep red ink.

 

image009

 

For this one I used the word happy that I cut out using my silhouette and cut some circles out using a punch. The circle with the rose on it is covered in glossy accents.

image010

 

Finally, I created a scrapbook layout using the paper like quilt pieces. I used the sewing machine to stitch the edges of each piece.

image011

I hope you enjoyed looking at my creations, and I certainly had fun making them. Thanks to the Paperie for letting me play with this fun kit.

Melanie

Thank-you Melanie!  We love the vintage look of this card kit and the beautiful cards and layouts you did.

 

Wendy Signature

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Comment

