December Page Kit – Cathie Reed

Hello Friends!

I am delighted to share the projects I made using The Paperie’s gorgeous December kit. This kit is full of beautiful embellishments, papers and perhaps my most favorite Thickers ever! I’m excited to show you what I made so let’s get started.

Dec Kit_1 CR

 

This page is all about those gold numbers. They are so lovely, I wanted to hoard them but luckily there are plenty in this package so I had lots to use and some leftover. I opened the package and put half of it on the page. I glued them in place using TomBow Mono Multi Glue and then layered on some diecuts and stickers from Simple Stories. The white ink is from my Sharpie Paint Pen. It makes the loveliest white ink splashes.

Dec Kit_2 CR

 

For my next page, I cut up the sheet of pattern paper with 4×6 journaling cards and used them as layering pieces for my photo.

Dec Kit_3 CR

 

Then I added some diecuts and white ink splats using my Sharpie Paint Pen.

Dec Kit_4 CR

 

Finally, I added some gold embossing enamel by Stampendous. This is one of my favorite go-to supplies. You use it exactly like embossing powder but it is chunkier and creates a totally different effect.

Dec Kit_5 CR

 

For my next page, I needed to get messy and inky.

Dec Kit_6 CR

I started with some gesso, added modeling paste through a stencil and then started spraying with ink. I love to use the Prima Color Bloom inks. They are so easy and fun to use. For this page, I used some of my favorites – Tea Stain and Soft Teal. To bring in the gold, I lightly swiped my Delicata Gold Ink pad across the page.

Dec Kit_7 CR

 

And finally, I added Thickers. These are the loveliest Thickers ever. They have a foam base with a gold paper on top and they stick to my mixed media pages. I really hope that we will see more of these types of Thickers in the future. In the meantime, enjoy…

Dec Kit_8 CR

For my next layout layout, I piled on the chipboard frames. First, I backed them with some sheet music pattern paper you can find in the kit. Then I added a layer of 3D Matte Gel by Finnabair for Prima through a stencil to the green cardstock.

Dec Kit_9 CR

While the gel was wet, I sprinkled on some Stampendous Embossing Enamel – Chunky Silver and Antique Gold. The embossing enamel stuck to the wet gel. Then I melted the enamel with my heat gun. Finally,I layered up the chipboard frames, diecuts and stickers and glued everything in place with my hot glue gun.

Dec Kit_10 CR

 

Finally, here is my last page using the handmade made exclusively for this kit. I love, love, love Nancy French’s handmade paper. I had a lot of ideas for this paper. I thought about making tags or diecuts but in the end, I made this layout.

Dec Kit_11 CR

 

I started with a layer of clear gesso. When the gesso was dry, I added some modeling paste through a Prima stencil and sprinkled on some embossing enamel. When the modeling paste was dry, I melted the embossing enamel with my heat gun. Then I added some spray ink. I used the Prima Color Bloom sprays in Soft Teal, Deep Teal and Tea Stain.

Dec Kit_12 CR

Then I added some diecuts and twine from my stash to finish the page. I wanted to keep the page simple and not overwork with too many supplies or techniques.

 

So, there you have it. Ideas for 5 layouts but there is so much in this kit that I had plenty leftover to make a few extra things like these tags.

Dec Kit_13 CR

 

I started by cutting the tags from a sheet of white cardstock in the kit. (note: I borrowed Tina’s Tim Holtz tag die and loved it so much, I ordered a die for myself!)

Then I spritzed some Prima Color Bloom in Empress Gold through my favorite Prima stencil – Bubbles. Then I layered up the leftover diecuts and chipboard frames to make these tags. I glued everything in place using my hot glue gun. It was quick and easy and I know everything will stay in place.

I was completely inspired to try these tags by Wilna Furstenberg. If you haven’t watched her YouTube channel, you should. Her work is beautiful and inspiring.

 

And finally, I have a couple of honourable mentions from the kit. The first is this paper.

Dec Kit_14 CR

 

I loved it so much – too much to cut into it. So, I have decided to frame it and hang it my home this year. Maybe at the end of the season, I’ll be ready to actually use it.

 

Then there are these labels.

 

Dec Kit_15 CR

 

I think these would be great in a December Daily or as tags for gifts. I also think they would be great labels for addressing your Christmas cards. You get one sheet with 5 labels so that you can try any or all of these ideas. That’s what I plan to do.

And that brings me (finally) to the end. I cannot gush enough about this kit. I think it is fabulous and would make a great gift for yourself or someone crafty on your list.

 

Thanks to the Paperie Team for asking me to play along. It was so much fun.

 

Merry Christmas!

 

Cathie

 

Thanks so much Cathie as always your layouts are beautiful and those tags – love them!

One thought on “December Page Kit – Cathie Reed

Leave a Comment

