March Card Kit – Designer Melanie Smith

Hi Everyone! Melanie Smith joined us as guest designer this month … here is Melanie..

Hello everyone!

This month I was delighted to be able to create with the new card kit. I was pretty productive, I must say, quickly pumping out 7 cards and one layout. The kit included some very useful sentiment stamps, so I am proud to say that my mother’s day and father’s day cards are already taken care of. For the first mother’s day card, I used some chalk paint on top of the red and pink patterned paper instead of the white paper rectangle that I would typically use. The flowers and butterflies in the first 2 cards were cut from the patterned paper pad in the kit.

image

 

image

This card uses the ampersand from the patterned paper, and the heart stickers to make a sweet little love note.

image

The pretty navy ribbon in the kit was the perfect embellishment for the next 2 any occasion cards.

image
image

So if the moms get fussy cut butterflies and flowers, so do the dads! The navy ribbon makes another appearance in the first Father’s day card, and the tags in the second were cut from the patterned paper. I used markers to colour in just a few of the flowers from the black and white paper.

image

image

Finally, I used the patterned paper to create 2 layouts. I used some of my new thickers on this 8.5×11 page, and to coordinate, I cut the words “the” and “from” with my silhouette and gold embossed the negative.

image

I used some paint again on the tag for this layout, and I added a couple of new things that I picked up last week at the Paperie. The word “silliness is part of an embellishment pack, and I painted it with some new prima art alchemy shimmery paint. I also put a few drops of that around the page, and finished it off by circling my photo withe some twine.

image

A big thank-you to the Paperie for asking me to design this month. I always love any opportunity to create something đŸ™‚

Melanie

 

Thank-you so much for designing for us this month Melanie – love these projects!

If you’d like a kit give us a call.

Wendy & Janna

Leave a Comment

