Peony Bouquet

Happy Friday!!! Today I am sharing a couple of cards I made this week using my new Altenew stamp set- Peony Bouquet.  I was so intrigued by the concept of layered stamps, that I think I may have become an avid card maker!  I liked the idea that I could get such detailed images and not have to use Copics or other markers to colour them. Not that I don’t like to colour – but I just don’t own any markers because I’m usually more of a scrapbooker than a stamper/card maker.   First off, here are my 2 cards:

For the first card, I wanted a peony pink, but didn’t have the right colour ink on hand.  I tried using water colours but couldn’t get the right shade of pink. So I used acrylic paint an painted over a piece of paper. Then I used the two detail stamps in darker shades of pink ink, and then stamped the outline using versa mark and gold embossing powder. I then cut out the flowers and adhered them to my card front. The gold leaves were stamped directly onto the card front.  Then I printed the “Happy Birthday” and cut it out, adhering it to another piece of paper that I gold embossed.

For the second card, I first printed the sentiment using my printer and cut out the card front. You may be asking “but why not use stamps?”  Well because Im new to stamping and don’t have any sentiment stamps!  I then used the layering stamps in 3 shades of yellow and the outline in black.  The leaves and berries were stamped in black and I used water colours to colour them in.

I really had fun playing with my new stamp sets this week and I hope you enjoyed seeing my projects. Have a great weekend!

Melanie

Leave a Comment

