Retreat Weekend Class Hype!

We are eager to set out on our 24th Retreat Weekend! One of the many perks of the weekend away is the chance to take a class or two! This weekend we welcome a new instructor to the Retreat Lineup – Cathy Caines! She has some cards planned for us, but in the meantime, check out this blog post she did for us recently!

I am not a cat person.

But I know a lot of cat people.

So, I must love cat stamps, right?

Hmmm. Confused?

Me too.

Welcome to my life.

It’s me. Cathy Caines.  And my first time hanging out on The Paperie Blog.

 

 

This Cats polymer stamp set was created by a small company named Jane’s Doodles. Based out of Croatia, Jane Beljo, the owner of this company hand draws each image to perfection. I’ve recently added the Lily stamp to my collection as well as the Unicorns stamp set and I can’t wait to grow my stash to include Seamus. My daughter’s name is Jane so I feel an odd connection to Jane’s Doodles…

With any card, I begin designing a card by stamping multiple images.  In this case, I heat embossed with clear embossing powder and black pigment ink onto Canson XL water colour paper. Note that if you are fast, you can even use most archival inks with clear embossing powder.

Why do I use clear embossing powder rather than black embossing powder? Simply put – I am lazy.  You don’t have to be as careful with clear embossing powder… there’s no such thing as those little bits of black powder showing up in places where it shouldn’t.

I love to watercolour.  There are many ways that you can do this.  This time, I used my Tim Holtz distress inks by “stamping” them onto my mat and using a waterbrush pen to spread the water onto the card.

Simple cards are my jam.

Although this is a super cute card even for me it was too plain.

For my next card, I played with the different cats and the fish… Finally settling in on a sleepy cat dreaming of tuna.

With a heart to boot.

Well… That’s purr-fect.

Thanks for dropping by.

Cathy Caines

Product ListCanson XL water colour paper, Jane’s Doodles Cat Stamp, Tim Holtz Distress Inks, Amy Tangerine washi tape, clear embossing powder, Ranger Archival Ink, white bakers twine

Paperie Sidenote: We might have a couple extra copies of this stamp set at our Retreat this weekend 😉

Leave a Comment

